A Wonderful Evening

A Wonderful Evening

I was drifting up above my mortal remains beneath a mango tree,
Surrounded by a promising void in an empty virtual reality.
Muffled voices laughed when I claimed to have figured it all,
Beholding the freak caught amongst the hypnotised lot at the mall;
Little knowing you had slipped me all the answers back in the hall.

My consciousness became conscious of its existence,
And decrying its having to reside inside the narrow fence
Of my stale imagination, it battered against the insides my skull,
Dreaming of the illusion that was the universe outside the wall.

Somewhere entwined among the tangled vibrations in the air:

A man audibly perturbed by her woman’s claim of knowing
What it was like to not be.

The abrupt cacophony of the muffled voices as I flew, flapping
The vaporous set of wings you had lent me.

The spuriously sensual beating of the clock, its slowed ticking
Signalling I was far removed from home, free.

Leave a comment